Mitt Romney says, “You know what? Lighten up slightly.”

 

Mitt Romney indicates that he has no intentions of apologizing for a photo that was snapped of him with a woman holding a sign that is controversial to some.

Republican presidential hopeful Mitt Romney is refusing to apologize for posing with a sign that said “No to Osama, Obama and Chelsea’s Momma,” lumping two Democratic rivals with the Sept. 11 mastermind.

“I don’t look at all the signs when I’m having pictures taken. I have a lot of pictures taken with people,” Romney said. “I don’t really spend all that much time looking at the signs and the T-shirts and the buttons. I don’t have anything to say about a sign somebody else was holding.”

Romney posed for the photograph while campaigning in South Carolina last week. 

Jerid Kurtz, a New Hampshire-based contributor to the Buckeye State Blog called on Romney to apologize for what he sees as an inappropriate comment, while the candidate was at a townhall meeting in Exeter.

“I’m just concerned because I can remember where I was at on Sept. 11,” said Jerid Kurtz, a New Hampshire-based contributor to Buckeye State Blog. “How can you compare any American to Osama bin Laden? How can you do that?”

So, who is Jerid Kurtz?  Kurtz’s bio on the Web site notes he is a former Democratic campaign operative.

About Our Posters
Jerid Kurtz, Administrator
Jerid’s a lifelong Ohioan and former Democratic campaign staffer. He administers BSB because of his knack for blogging and politics he was in the right place at the right time. When he’s not poking fun at the GOP, he stares for hours out the windows in the Ben Green Library at Case Western Reserve University School of Law in Cleveland where he’s pursuing his JD….

Romney’s response…

“You know what? Lighten up slightly,” Romney said. “There are a lot of jokes out there. I’m not responsible for all the signs I see.”

If you are interested, Jerid says he is “available for comment” on his experience with Romney at Jerid@buckeyestateblog.com.  Talk to him about it.

I am not a Mitt Romney supporter but I happen to be with him on this one.  Someone was standing there and wanted a picture with him that was holding a sign that Kurtz, a democratic operative, doesn’t like.  Big deal.  It wasn’t like it was Romney’s sign. 

So, yeah, “lighten up.”

Leave a comment